About the IB

The structure of the IB Diploma Programme

The IB Diploma Programme is a 2-year programme culminating in final exams.

The diagram below illustrates the structure of the programme:


As the diagram shows, the programme centres on the IB Learner Profile, the attributes which the student centred and independence based teaching and learning process aims to develop throughout the two years. All other components - the core and the six subject groups - are organized around this.

Students can choose their subjects from six groups depending on future plans, making the IB programme a fully individualized one for each student. Three of the chosen subjects (or at most four) must be taken at higher level.

The core requirements are:

Theory of knowledge

Extended essay

Creativity, activity, service

Subject groups:

Studies in language and literature

Language acquisition

Individuals and societies



The arts