IB Diploma Programme

The IB Diploma Programme is a 2-year programme culminating in final exams.


The diagram below illustrates the structure of the programme:



As the diagram shows, the programme centres on the IB Learner Profile, the attributes which the student centred and independence based teaching and learning process aims to develop throughout the two years. All other components - the core and the six subject groups - are organized around this.


Students can choose their subjects from six groups depending on future plans, making the IB programme a fully individualized one for each student. Three of the chosen subjects (or at most four) must be taken at higher level.


The core requirements are:


Theory of knowledge

Extended essay

Creativity, activity, service


We offer the following subjects in the six subject groups:


Studies in language and literature

  • Hungarian literature
  • English language and literature
  • Students of other nationalities may request to study literature in their mother tongue as a self-taught subject.


Language acquisition

  • English
  • Spanish
  • German
  • Russian

German is also available as ab initio.


Individuals and societies

  • History
  • Economics
  • Environmental systems and societies (standard level only)
  • Geography
  • Psychology



  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Environmental systems and societies (standard level only)



  • Mathematical studies  (standard level only)
  • Mathematics standard level


The arts

Currently we do not offer arts.


As the sixth subject students can choose an additional subject from the first five groups.